The Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence

ACTION ALERT! Protect victim access to TANF benefits! Ask legislators TODAY to OPPOSE HB 861 and SB 292 regarding drug testing for TANF applicants!

Posted on: 02.28.12

Protect victim access to TANF!   Please contact your legislators TODAY and urge them to OPPOSE House Bill 861 and Senate Bill 292, which require applicants for TANF cash assistance to pay for and pass drug screens before receiving benefits for themselves or their children.

There is no question that economic security is closely linked to safety for victims of domestic violence and their children.  Without access to money and resources, many victims find themselves forced to stay with or return to their batterers, thereby increasing their risk of further abuse and homicide.

For so many victims and their children, TANF cash assistance has served as an important stepping stone toward economic security for themselves and their children.  Unfortunately, House Bill 861 and Senate Bill 292 would decrease access to this important resource, creating yet another barrier to victims seeking to become economically independent from their batterers.  We need your help in letting legislators know how these bills will impact victims of domestic violence and their children!

 

ACTIONS NEEDED

Additional information to pass along to legislators, if time permits

House Judiciary Committee members

Rep. Wendell Willard, Chair – 404.656.5125 – wendell.willard@house.ga.gov

Rep. Mike Jacobs, Vice-Chair – 404.656.0152 – mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov

Rep. Stephen Allison – 404.656.0188 – stephen.allison@house.ga.gov

Rep. Rich Golick – 404.656.5943 – rich.golick@house.ga.gov

Rep. Joe Wilkinson – 404.463.8143 – joe.wilkinson@house.ga.gov

Rep. Roger Bruce – 404.656.0314 – roger.bruce@house.ga.gov

Rep. Rick Crawford – 404.656.0265 – rick.crawford@house.ga.gov

Rep. Elly Dobbs – 404.656.7859 – elly.dobbs@house.ga.gov

Rep. Stacey Evans – 404.656.6372 – stacey.evans@house.ga.gov

Rep. Mark Hatfield – 404.656.0109 – mark.hatfield@house.ga.gov    

Rep. Roger Lane – 404.656.5087 – roger.lane@house.ga.gov

Rep. Edward Lindsey – 404.656.5024 – edward.lindsey@house.ga.gov

Rep. Billy Maddox – 404.656.3947 – billy.maddox@house.ga.gov

Rep. Doug McKillip – 404.656.0177 – doug.mckillip@house.ga.gov

Rep. Randy Nix – 404.656.0177 – randy.nix@house.ga.gov

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver – 404.656.0265 – mary.oliver@house.ga.gov

Rep. Larry O’Neal – 404.656.5052 – larry.oneal@house.ga.gov

Rep. Jay Powell – 404.656.7856 – jay.powell@house.ga.gov

Rep. Pam Stephenson – 404.656.0126 – pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov

Rep. Andy Welch – 404.656.0109 – andy.welch@house.ga.gov

Rep. Tom Weldon – 404.656.0152 – tom.weldon@house.ga.gov

 

Thank you for taking time to protect victim access to this vital economic safety net!

Leave a Reply




If you click the "ESCAPE THIS SITE" button, you will be immediately redirected to www.weather.com. An abuser can monitor your computer use. GCADV recommends using a computer at a library or friends house if you are concerned about being watched on your computer. Click here for more info on internet safety.