The Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence

ACTION ALERT EXTENDED! Protect victim access to TANF benefits! Ask legislators to OPPOSE HB 861 and SB 292 regarding drug testing for TANF applicants!

Posted on: 03.01.12

There is still time to contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and your Senators to protect victim access to TANF cash assistance!

House Bill 861 is now scheduled for committee hearing at 8 a.m. on Monday, Mar. 5.

Senate Bill 292 will be up for a vote on the Senate floor early during the week of Mar. 5.

Both of these bills would create additional barriers for domestic violence victims who seek to utilize this important short-term assistance as a stepping stone to becoming economically independent from their batterers.  They would require all applicants for TANF cash assistance to pay for and pass drug screens as a condition of receiving benefits for themselves or their children.

 

ACTIONS NEEDED

 

Additional information and talking points on these bills

 

House Judiciary Committee

Wendell Willard (R-Sandy Springs)  404.656.5125  wendell.willard@house.ga.gov

Mike Jacobs (R-Atlanta)  404.656.0152  mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov

Stephen Allison (R-Blairsville)  404.656.0188  stephen.allison@house.ga.gov

Rich Golick (R-Smyrna)  404.656.5943  rich.golick@house.ga.gov

Joe Wilkinson (R-Atlanta)  404.463.8143  joe.wilkinson@house.ga.gov

Roger Bruce (D-Atlanta)  404.656.0314  roger.bruce@house.ga.gov

Rick Crawford (D-Cedartown)  404.656.0265 rick.crawford@house.ga.gov

Elly Dobbs (D-Atlanta)  404.656.7859  elly.dobbs@house.ga.gov

Stacey Evans (D-Smyrna)  404.656.6372 stacey.evans@house.ga.gov

Mark Hatfield (R-Waycross)  404.656.0109 mark.hatfield@house.ga.gov

Roger Lane (R-Darien)  404.656.5087  roger.lane@house.ga.gov

Edward Lindsey (R-Atlanta)  404.656.5024  edward.lindsey@house.ga.gov

Billy Maddox (R-Zebulon)  404.656.3947  billy.maddox@house.ga.gov

Doug McKillip (R-Athens)  404.656.0177  doug.mckillip@house.ga.gov

Randy Nix (R-LaGrange)  404.656.0177  randy.nix@house.ga.gov

Mary Margaret Oliver (D-Decatur)  404.656.0265  mary.oliver@house.ga.gov

Larry O’Neal (R-Bonaire)  404.656.5052  larry.oneal@house.ga.gov

Jay Powell (R-Camilla)  404.656.7856  jay.powell@house.ga.gov

Pam Stephenson (D-Atlanta)  404.656.0126  pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov

Andy Welch (R- McDonough)  404.656.0109  andy.welch@house.ga.gov

Tom Weldon (R-Ringgold)  404.656.0152  tom.weldon@house.ga.gov

 

Thank you for taking time to protect victim access to this vital economic safety net!

 

Leave a Reply




If you click the "ESCAPE THIS SITE" button, you will be immediately redirected to www.weather.com. An abuser can monitor your computer use. GCADV recommends using a computer at a library or friends house if you are concerned about being watched on your computer. Click here for more info on internet safety.